Archive

Posts Tagged ‘phishing scams’

You’ve received A Hallmark E-Card!-dangerous link

November 7th, 2008 Chris Bailey No comments

Ahh, when you care enough to send the very worst. ;)   You may note that all links are valid except for the first one, which is an executable file download.  I didn’t go there and I don’t recommend anyone else to.

A Friend has sent you a Hallmark E-Card.

If you recognize this name, click the link to see your E-Card.
http://www.hallmark.com/ECardWeb/ECV.jsp?a=EG0694272732475M245925860Y&product_id=
leads to actual url ftp.infoasturias.com/FunnyPicture.jpg.exe

If this name is not familiar to you and you’re concerned about online security, please use the following steps:

  1. Visit http://www.hallmark.com/getecard
  2. Enter your e-mail address in the Original Recipient.s E-Mail Address box.
  3. Enter EG0694262772475 in the Confirmation Number box.
  4. Click Display Greeting.

Want to send an E-Card too ? Visit www.hallmark.com/ecards

To view Hallmark’s privacy policy or for questions, visit www.hallmark.com, and click the links at the bottom of the page.

Hallmark Cards, Inc., 2501 McGee, P.O. Box 419034, Kansas City, MO 64141
VN:F [1.9.3_1094]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Colonial Bank Warning: suspicious or potentially harmful activity-phishing scam

November 7th, 2008 Chris Bailey No comments

Another phishing scam for Colonial Bank customers:

COLONIAL BANK CORPORATION WARNING:

Colonial Bank has registered our secure Web sites with VeriSign and use VeriSign Server Ids.
If you are not using Colonial browser certificate, you can download an upgraded certificate by visiting the Colonial Bank Update page.

Proceed to customer service department>>. the italicized text was hyperlinked to servletdologin.comreportid.cfmaster.dg9dgwzpe.actionvalidate.productsremote.pgtsyvfpu.coloneldi.
com
/security.php?/renewmirror/cfmaster/OSL.htm?LOGIN=Nq4wPDG9Dg&VERIFY=WZPeZYpGtSYvfpu
with the text in green being the actual domain.

Sincerely, Ernest Holley.
2003 Colonial Bank.

VN:F [1.9.3_1094]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Problem: Inaccurate whois information (fraudulent email)

October 30th, 2008 Chris Bailey 5 comments

Here is a lovely fraudulent email I received today targeting those of us who own domains.

They use a very clever domain name that took me a minute to catch.

Always beware of emails like this.  This email phishing scam was targeting Network Solution customers and sadly, at least a few will fall for it.

The safest thing to do when you get emails that are supposedly from your webhost, bank, credit card company, etc. is to go to that site directly from a bookmark or typing in the url.  Never go from links in your email to services like this.

Dear Network SolutionsŽ Customer,

On Thu, 30 Oct 2008 23:23:17 +0100 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.

Please note: ICANN (the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) regulations state that the WHOIS Administrative Contact may initiate and approve domain name registration transfers from your Network Solutions account to other Registrars. If you are not listed as the WHOIS Administrative Contact a transfer can occur without your knowledge if Domain Protect is not enabled for the domain name registrations listed above.

To change the WHOIS Administrative Contact Information for any of your domains, please login to Account Manager:

1. Log in to Account Manager at: http://www.networksolutions.com. (Because I didn’t want to give a link to this thieving site, the url showed the correct address in print, but when you hovered over it, the actual destination url was http://www.networksolutions.com.sys44.biz/ so the fraudulent domain is actually sys44.biz
2. Click on the “Profile & Accounts” tab in the left navigation menu to be taken to a page listing your account details.
3. Click on “Accounts” and select the account you wish to edit.
4. Click “View/Edit WHOIS Contacts” to make your updates.

If you believe someone requested this change without your consent, please contact Customer Service.

If you would like to order additional services or to update your account, please visit us online.

Thank you for choosing Network Solutions. We are committed to providing you with the solutions, services, and support to help you succeed online.

Sincerely,
Network SolutionsŽ Customer Support

VN:F [1.9.3_1094]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)